Wednesday, 21 July 2010

traveltraveltraveltravel

Here I am again, using a fast food chain's free wi-fi without buying their food. Mwahahaaaaa....

So! I am currently waiting for my train from Marseille to Nice and since I have 30 minutes to spare I thought why not write another blog cause they are fun.

Okay so last time I blogged was Wednesday, I was in Paris then and the rain was sucking all the excitement out of .... well being in Paris!! So yeh Wednesday I saw the Notre Dame but that's it. Thursday was going to have to be a big day!
I started with the Eiffel Tower (what else!) and it is pretty schweet to see it first hand. Right underneath it there was a bike tour going on so I joined in with other tourists and did a bike tour around Paris. It was alright. It was such a nice day by the way, so warm. Anyway after this bike tour I walked to the Arc de Triomphe which is massive! Went to the top and the view of Paris was great! Then I went to the Sacre Couer, another great view overlooking the city.

I went back to the Eiffel Tower later to relax a bit and on the way, just walking by the Seine a young woman probably 25ish asked me if I spoke English. So we chatted for a bit and it turned out her and her friend (American and English) were part of a mission group in Paris for a week or so and they were part of the evangelising team. We talked and it was really cool meeting these guys in the middle of Paris. Before I left they prayed for me which was so cool! Such amazing things happening right under your nose.

I relaxed on the fields in front of the Eiffel Tower that evening and took a few photo's and even had a go at a little sketch! Later I met with my couch surfing host guy and he was cool (the one the previous night was ... dull). Him, his girlfriend and I talked for a while, he had a Flight of the Conchords poster on his wall!! Quite sad I only had one night there but it was cool to make a contact in Paris.

Friday morning it was time to leave for Blois, first I had to see the Lourve. It was cool. Mona Lisa was cool. Small, but cool. So many people. I left. Train to Blois.

(This is getting a little long)

BLOIS - I stayed for one night, with a hippy, one of the first things he asked me was if I would like a joint. I politely refused. He was really cool though, with a few friends we went to a bar and saw a blues band.

BORDEAUX - Ahhh.... I had two nights here but I got sick :( Like... weird hallucination sick haha. I stayed with 3 people in there very big house just outside Bordeaux. They were slightly hippy, they had a massive vege garden, skateboard ramp, and a book on beginner's composting. In the day I saw the city on bike and it is a very lovely city.

MARSEILLE - I stayed two nights here with a 30 something year old dude, he was cool. We went out to an island on his boat and had a swim, drove to the top of this cliff which had an amazing view of the city. Overall it was pretty great.


So in summary, travelling has been really good, quite challenging at times but worth it. Most of my time I've been seeing amazing things, eating different and very tasteful things but all of it reminds me that I'm not home. It just makes me realise just how much I like Australia and being 'comfortable' with the environment around you. So Europe is great, like... REALLY great. But it's not home for me. (And this just makes me even more excited for when I go to my real home if you know what I mean)

Lots of love to all, I'm staying stafe, enjoying travelling but also looking forward to September when I return to my temporary home, but even more so in December when I return home.

Just one photo today peeps cause my train leaves NOW! (hopefully I'll be able to put up more on facebook in the next few days)

1 comment:

  1. hey curtis!
    i love your blog. this is exactly what i wanted to do when i came to europe.. but never got around to doing. i think ive run out of time now, though im considering starting one once i get home, based on journal entries (which ive done every day for 4 months! new record!).
    Anyhoo, just thought i'd say that it sounds like you're having a great time! STAY SAFE!
    Couch surfing sounds awesome, but probably more practical for guys than for girls (unless you go as a group).
    Also, i completely agree about the whole 'not being at home' thing... i love europe too, but it is not home. i miss australia too.
    lots of love & god bless!
    Lauren W

    ReplyDelete