Just dropping in to share my first experiences in France (it will be short as I am using wireless from Subway without food, I'm sure they will kick me out soon).
So I caught my ferry to France and all was good! Great weather and no complications. I managed to find my train to get to my first stop in Europe, Lille.
I arrived in Lille and straight away called my host for the night (couchsurfing). I called him and he met with me and took me to his apartment. He was very nice and very French! Except that he played the didgeridoo?? That afternoon we took his didgeridoo and a guitar down to the park and had a little jam which was great! Here I met some of his friends who we met up with later that night. As the World Cup final was on, we went to a small bar/restaurant to do some wine and cheese tasting (so excited!). Coco (my host), his friend and I had 3 different wines each and a plate of different cheese and sausages. The weirdes thing happened... I liked the wine! Anyway that was a great night because another 7 of his friends arrived and they could all speak English quite well.
The next day I walked around a bit and Coco gave me a free tour of Lille on his taxi bike! II couldn't believe it, and iit was free as well! That night we went to a local pub and I met more of his friends who are going to Australia later in the year so I was able to give them some advice.
After two nights in Lille it was time to go so I caught my train to Paris and arrived in the afternoon with no accommodation planned. CouchSurfing failed me! i ended up paying 40 euro's for a bed but that's Paris I guess. It was cool though as I met a few Californians who I hung out with that night. Noww it is Wednesday, my 4th day travelling and I have two more nights in Paris and people are hosting so no more lame hostels.
So I better go, oh I haven't even seen the Eiffel Tower yet! It's pretty bad weather here but tomorrow it is supposed to be nice so it will be tourist time! Well until next time... au revoir
Here are just a few pictures...
check out these parrots going at it!
No comments:
Post a Comment